Canadian Health Coalition

MARCH 31st – FIND EVENTS IN YOUR AREA

Don’t see an event in your area? Organize one! Contact the Canadian Health Coalition in your region for more information!

  1. St. John’s — Contact: Mary Clarke, Health Coalition of Newfoundland & Labrador, maryc_hcnl@hotmail.com
    Press Conference.
  2. Charlottetown — Contact: Mary Boyd, PEI Health Coalition, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
    Noon rally at Murphy Community Centre (200 Richmond St.).
  3. Summerside — Contact: Mary Boyd, PEI Health Coalition, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
    11:00am: Presenting postcards to Conservative MP Gail Shea (250 Water St.).
  4. Souris — Contact: Mary Boyd, PEI Health Coalition, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
    Panel discussion on the need for a new Health Accord at 7pm at the Souris Hospital (17 Knights Avenue).
  5. Halifax — Contact: James Hutt, Nova Scotia Citizen’s Health Care Network, james@nshealthcoalition.ca, 902-406-9422
    Meet at Noon in Victoria Park for a rally with music, speakers, and art. See the Facebook event page for more details.
  6. Bridgewater — Contact: Mary Wright, wrightmary123@gmail.com, 902-527-0766
    1) 11:00 am – Noon: Leafleting at South Shore Regional Hospital, Collaborative Health Care Centre, Atlantic Superstore & Sobeys
    2) Noon – 1:00 pm: Rally in parking lot of MP Gerald Keddy’s office (Aberdeen Commercial Centre, 129 Aberdeen Rd., Suite 106). Participant parking available in nearby commercial lot not presently in use. Bring signs! See the Facebook event page for more details.
  7. Dieppe — Contact: Daniel Legere, New Brunswick Health Coalition, dlegere@cupe.ca
    Gathering at the 4 Corners in front of Dieppe City Hall on Champlain Street from 8-9:00 a.m.
  8. Moncton — Contact: Serge Landry, Canadian Labour Congress, slandry@clc-ctc.ca, 506-851-7088 / 506-871-8496
    Noon march from city hall to the office of MP Robert Goguen.
  9. Saint John — Contact: Jean Claude Basque, Common Front for Social Justice, 506-875-4232, basquejc@nb.sympatico.ca
  10. Fredericton — Contact: Daniel Legere, Canadian Union of Public Employees, dlegere@cupe.ca
    Gathering at the corner of King and Carlton St. from 12 to 1:00 p.m.
  11. Montreal — Contact: Information and details coming soon.
  12. Ottawa — Contact: Marlene Rivier, Ottawa Health Coalition, marlene_rivier@rogers.com, 613-222-8392
    Funeral procession for the Health Accord on Parliament Hill over the lunch hour, starting at noon. Bring alarm clocks to make lots of noise!
  13. Ottawa — Contact: Erin Sirett, medicarelobby@gmail.com, 613-688-4973 ext. 2
    Luncheon featuring Jeff Turnbull, MD, Chief of Staff, The Ottawa Hospital (WATCH WEBCAST).
  14. Kingston — Contact: Ross Sutherland, Ontario Health Coalition, elbe@web.net, 613-532-7846
    Honk for Healthcare: A car “parade” downtown. Meet at the Tourist Information office at the bottom of Fort Henry Hill at noon. Bring noisemakers!
  15. Oshawa — Contact: Charlie Courneyea, Ontario Health Coalition, wccourneyea@gmail.com, 416-557-5935 or Trish McAuliffe, tmcauliffe@rogers.com, 905-436-0665
    Sound the Alarm at the office of Colin Carrie, Conservative MP for Oshawa, at noon (Lord Simcoe Place, 57 Simcoe Street South,Suite 2B, Oshawa).
  16. Scarborough — Contact: Kingsley Kwok, Scarborough Health Coalition, mercury28@gmail.com, 416-835-3377
    Sound the Alarm at the office of Roxanne James, Conservative MP, Monday March 24th from 3-6:00 p.m. (1450 Midland Ave, Suite 211, Scarborough).
  17. St. Catharines — Contact: Sue Hotte, Ontario Health Coalition, suehotte@yahoo.ca, 905-932-1646
    Sound the Alarm at the office of Rick Dystra, Conservative MP, at 4:00 p.m. (61 Geneva Street).
  18. Toronto — Contact: David Craig, davidscraig@rogers.com, 416-271-3030
    “Artists for Health Care” presents: Holler For Health Care! Join actress Shirley Douglas (Tommy’s daughter) and Tony Award winner Brent Carver along with a star-studded line up of singers and comedians including Ted Dykstra (Two Pianos, Four Hands), Nora McLellan (Shaw Festival) and Nancy White (CBC radio satirical songstress) for an evening of merry maladies and malady melodies to protest the end of federal leadership in Canadian health care. WHEN: 8:00 pm WHERE: Trinity St. Paul’s United Church, 427 Bloor St W, Toronto (1 block west of Spadina). Tickets ($12-25): CLICK HERE. Group tickets (10 or more): CLICK HERE.
  19. Toronto — Contact: Kim Johnston, Ontario Health Coalition, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
    Rally to Sound the Alarm and HONK FOR HEALTHCARE. Meet at Queen’s Park at 12 noon then people will march alongside taxis (honking) down University Ave to Dundas Street.
  20. Hamilton — Contact: United Steelworkers Local 1005, (905) 547-1417
    Rally at 3:00 p.m. at the Federal Building (55 Bat Street North).
  21. Brampton — Contact: Pat McGrail, activist@taxlite.org, 647-724-8530
    “Sound the Alarm” demonstration from 11:30 am to 1:30 pm. Bring your signs, flags, alarm clocks, bells, horns and pots and pans. Meet us in front of Tim Horton’s at Shoppers’ World (497 Main St. S – Hwy 10 & Steeles). See the Facebook event page for more details.
  22. North Bay — Contact: Henri Giroux, CUPE, 705 471-7746, hgiroux1@hotmail.com
    Demonstration at 12:15pm at the Constituency Office of Jay Aspin, MP (133 Main Street West).
  23. Orillia — Contact: Kim Johnston, Ontario Health Coalition, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
    Sound the Alarm rally with alarm clocks, bells, horns and pots and pans at noon at office of Bruce Santon, Conservative MP for Simcoe North (575 West Street South, Willow Court Plaza, Unit 12 Orillia).
  24. Sarnia — Contact: Arlene Patterson, Ontario Health Coalition, arlene.patterson13@gmail.com, 519-542-1895
    Sound the Alarm rally with alarm clocks, bells, horns and pots and pans at 12 noon outside the office of Conservative MP, Patricia Davidson (1000 Finch Drive., Sarnia).
  25. Sault Ste. Marie — Contact: Kim Johnston, Ontario Health Coalition, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
    Sound the Alarm demonstration with alarm clocks, bells and pots and pans at 11am outside the office of Conservative MP Bryan Hayes (369 Queen Street)
  26. Thunder Bay — Contact: Jules Tupker, Thunder Bay Health Coalition, jtupker@tbaytel.net, 807-577-5946
    Sound the alarm at City Hall at noon (with speeches from municipal leaders). From there we will march to local MPP Bill Mauro’s office and then to local MP John Rafferty’s office for a final speech. Bring your red umbrella!
  27. Winnipeg — Contact: Laurissa Smerchanski-Sims, smerchanskisims@gmail.com
    Demonstration at 4:30 pm at MP Steven Fletcher’s constituency office (3111 Portage Avenue Unit A).
  28. Winnipeg — Contact: Ric McAlpine, cupe1973@gmail.com
    Demonstration at 4:30 pm at MP Lawrence Toet’s constituency office (127 Regent Ave. West).
  29. Brandon — Contact: Vanessa Hamilton, Council of Canadians, hamiltonv@live.ca, 204-724-2163
    Delivery of the “Preserve Canada’s Medicare” petition at 12:00 pm to MP Larry Maguire (Suite 8-223, 18th St. N).
  30. Yorkton — Contact: Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
    Demonstration at 10 am in front of MP Gary Breitkreuz’s constituency office (19 1st Avenue, North Yorkton).
  31. Prince Albert — Contact: Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
    Sound the alarm rally at 5 pm at the Union Centre (107 8th St E, Prince Albert). Bring pots, pans, alarm clocks or download an airhorn app to your phone. Food, speakers and entertainment after the march at approximately 6 pm. Children are welcome!
  32. Regina — Contact: Tom Graham, Saskatchewan Health Coalition, tomgraham@sasktel.net
    Press conference
  33. Saskatoon — Contact: Stan Rice, Saskatchewan Health Coalition, jsrice@sasktel.net, 306-280-5315 or 306-382-2865.
    Join us for a news conference featuring physician Ryan Meili at 10:00am at the Saskatoon Community Clinic Annex – 424 1st Avenue North.
  34. Edmonton — Contact: Sandra Azocar, Alberta Friends of Medicare, 780-423-4581
  35. Nelson — Contact: Lorne Burkart, BCNU, lorneburkart@bcnu.org, 250-354-5311
    Rally at 12:15pm in front of City Hall — there will be a petition and postcard signing table.
  36. Kamloops — Contact: Rick Turner 250-819-5694 or Barb Nederpel 250-320-1635, bnederpel@gmail.com. Organized by: Kamloops Health Coalition, Kamloops Chapter of the Council of Canadians, Kamloops Retired Teachers and Kamloops HEU
    Meet at the Smorg deli by 3:30pm to march (about 3 blocks) to Conservative MP Cathy Macleod’s office. We will have speakers and signs and we will present her with one thousand signed postcards calling for a renewed and improved Canadian Health Accord.
  37. Kelowna — Contact: Ken Robinson, 604-838-3844, krobinson@heu.org
    Rally at MP Ron Cannan’s office, Noon-12:30pm (Capri Mall, 114-1835 Gordon Dr.).
  38. Princeton — Contact: Ed Staples, Support Our Health Care (SOHC), edwardstaples8@gmail.com, 250-295-0822
    Community rally at noon at Princeton’s Veterans Square. Show your support for public health care by bringing red umbrellas to the rally.
  39. Surrey — Contact: Kelly Aujla, 604-626-8806, kellya@shaw.ca
    Rally at MP Nina Grewal’s office, 12-12:30pm (201-15957 84 Ave.).
  40. Richmond — Contact: David Huespe, 604-619-5124, davidhuespe@hotmail.com
    Rally at office of MP Alice Wong, 3:30-4:00pm (360-5951 No. 3 Rd.).
  41. Vancouver — Contact: Bev Trynchy, 604-837-1433, btrynchy@heu.org
    Rally at MP Wai Young’s office, 9:00-9:30am (6406 Victoria Dr.).
  42. Cowichan Valley — Contact: Donna Cameron, Council of Canadians, dcameron@seaside.net
    Rally from 4:00 to 5:00pm at the corner of Trunk Rd. and Canada Ave. in Duncan. Bring a red or other brightly coloured umbrella to show your support for public health care!
  43. Nanaimo — Contact: Paul Manly, paulmanly@shaw.ca, 250 729-1254
    11:00am: Information session at the Vault Cafe (499 Wallace St.); 12:00pm: Street action at Terminal and Commercial.
  44. Campbell River/Comox Valley — Contact: Rich Hagensen, Council of Canadians, surfdust@telus.net, 250-286-3019
    Rally at 3:30pm outside the office of John Duncan, Conservative MP for Vancouver Island North (1250F Cedar Street, Campbell River).
  45. Yellowknife — Contact: Alternatives North, info@alternativesnorth.ca
    Leafleting and postcard campaign.
  46. Iqaluit — Contact: Blake Wilson, blakewilson149@gmail.com
    Gathering at 12:15pm at MP Leona Aglukkaq’s Constituency Office (Office 3, Building 208, Iqaluit).


Return to Main Page