Canadian Health Coalition

Canadians want federal leadership in health care: National day of action starts campaign for new Health Accord

Media Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 25, 2014

OTTAWA – The Canadian Health Coalition (CHC) will launch a national day of action March 31st to kick off a campaign for a new Health Accord. Events are organized in 40 communities across Canada, including a luncheon in Ottawa with Dr. Jeff Turnbull – Past-President of the Canadian Medical Association, and a concert in Toronto with many Canadian artists – including Shirley Douglas.

“We are sounding the alarm to alert Canadians to the fact that the Harper government is not providing federal leadership in health care. This will lead to a fragmentation of services across the country, and access to care will depend on where you live and your ability to pay,” says Michael McBane, Executive Director of the CHC.

The Canadian Health Coalition will follow up the day of action with a Medicare Tour, visiting eight cities across the country and meeting with citizens at community events, public forums, and workshops. The tour features Alex Himelfarb, former Clerk of the Privy Council to three prime ministers, and Wendell Potter, former VP of Communications for Cigna, one of the largest American health insurers.

For more information click here and here. For a list of national events occurring on March 31st click here.

-30-

For further information:
Erin Sirett, Campaign Director
Canadian Health Coalition
251 Bank Street, Suite #212
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1X3
(613) 688-4973, ext. 2
medicarelobby@gmail.com

 


#Stand4Medicare


List of National Events

  1. St. John’s — Contact: Mary Clarke, maryc_hcnl@hotmail.com
  2. Charlottetown — Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  3. Summerside — Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  4. Souris — Contact: Mary Boyd, maryboyd@live.ca, 902-892-9074
  5. Halifax — Contact: James Hutt, james@nshealthcoalition.ca, 902-406-9422
  6. Bridgewater — Contact: Mary Wright, wrightmary123@gmail.com, 902-527-0766
  7. Dieppe — Contact: Daniel Legere, dlegere@cupe.ca
  8. Moncton — Contact: Serge Landry, slandry@clc-ctc.ca, 506-851-7088
  9. Saint John — Contact: Jean-Claude Basque, basquejc@nb.sympatico.ca, 506-875-4232
  10. Fredericton — Contact: Daniel Legere, dlegere@cupe.ca
  11. Ottawa — Contact: Erin Sirett, medicarelobby@gmail.com, 613-688-4973 ext. 2
  12. Ottawa — Contact: Marlene Rivier, marlene_rivier@rogers.com, 613-222-8392
  13. Kingston — Contact: Ross Sutherland, elbe@web.net, 613-532-7846
  14. Oshawa — Contact: Charlie Courneyea, wccourneyea@gmail.com, 416-557-5935
  15. Scarborough — Contact: Kingsley Kwok, mercury28@gmail.com, 416-835-3377
  16. St. Catharines — Contact: Sue Hotte, suehotte@yahoo.ca, 905-932-1646
  17. Toronto — Holler 4 Health Care — Contact: David Craig, davidscraig@rogers.com, 416-271-3030
  18. Toronto — Honk for Health Care — Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  19. Hamilton — Contact: United Steelworkers Local 1005, (905) 547-1417
  20. Brampton — Contact: Pat McGrail, activist@taxlite.org, 647-724-8530
  21. North Bay — Contact: Henri Giroux, 705-471-7746
  22. Orillia — Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  23. Sarnia — Contact: Arlene Patterson, arlene.patterson13@gmail.com, 519-542-1895
  24. Sault Ste. Marie — Contact: Kim Johnston, ohc@sympatico.ca, 416-441-2502
  25. Thunder Bay – Contact: Jules Tupker, Thunder Bay Health Coalition, jtupker@tbaytel.net, 807-577-5946
  26. Winnipeg — Contact: Laurissa Smerchanski-Sims, smerchanskisims@gmail.com
  27. Winnipeg — Contact: Ric McAlpine, cupe1973@gmail.com
  28. Brandon — Contact: Vanessa Hamilton, hamiltonv@live.ca, 204-724-2163
  29. Yorkton — Contact: Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
  30. Prince Albert — Contact: Tria Donaldson, Tdonaldson@cupe.ca
  31. Regina — Contact: Tom Graham, tomgraham@sasktel.net
  32. Saskatoon — Contact: Stan Rice, jsrice@sasktel.net, 306-280-5315
  33. Edmonton — Contact: Sandra Azocar, 780-423-4581
  34. Kamloops — Contact: Rick Turner 250-819-5694
  35. Kelowna — Contact: Ken Robinson, krobinson@heu.org, 604-838-3844
  36. Nelson — Contact: Lorne Burkart, lorneburkart@bcnu.org, 250-354-5311
  37. Princeton — Contact: Ed Staples, edwardstaples8@gmail.com, 250-295-0822
  38. Surrey — Contact: Kelly Aujla, kellya@shaw.ca, 604-626-8806
  39. Richmond — Contact: David Huespe, daivdhuespe@hotmail.com, 604-619-5124
  40. Cowichan Valley — Contact: Donna Cameron, Council of Canadians, dcameron@seaside.net
  41. Nanaimo — Contact: Paul Manly, paulmanly@shaw.ca, 250 729-1254
  42. Campbell River/Comox Valley — Contact: Rich Hagensen, surfdust@telus.net, 250-286-3019
  43. Vancouver — Contact: Bev Trynchy, btrynchy@heu.org, 604-837-1433
  44. Yellowknife — Contact: Ben McDonald, info@alternativesnorth.ca, 867-873-8123
  45. Iqaluit — Contact: Blake Wilson, blakewilson149@gmail.com